January 22, 2016

Old Restaurant, New Friends

Sharing meals and fostering friendships for nearly 300 years.

IMG_7509

Restaurante Botín is the oldest restaurant in the world, according to the Guiness Book of World Records.  The building, clearly aged, in an already mature town, is tucked away in the shadows of Mercado de San Miguel. It’s interior appears original, complete with winding, wooden stairs, colorful, stained glass windows, and blue and white tiled walls.  The staff was friendly and accommodating, having experience with tourists, while serving our party of 12.  The food (I ordered the filet mignon) was mediocre and fairly priced, but my company was entertaining and enjoyable.

My friends from my program and I are linked sharing this adventure.  We are a mix of personalities, from all across the United States, but we bond over the commonality of our home country and our curiosity for our new one. It has been fun to explore Madrid together and ease in to Spanish life with comical, creative, and caring people by my side.  Only two weeks have gone by and I feel as though we’ve known each other for two years.  At the same time, two weeks is long enough to establish a routine and achieve a sense of familiarity.  I am ready to expand my social circle and hope to add Spanish friends to my Madrid experience soon.

IMG_7510

Destination Locations

 

Paz, Amor, Madrid

A.J.H.

Leave a Reply

