January 21, 2016

Picture Perfect

In addition to four Spanish classes, I chose to take a photojournalism course as a complement to my study abroad experience.  A recent camera purchase inspired me to learn more about photography and how to use a DSLR camera properly.  In my past 17 years as a student, I have never been so excited about a class until now.  My professor, James Rajotte, has worked for multiple, reputable publications and produces stunning images.  I am eager to exercise my creativity with his guidance to visually deliver a passion and depth that cannot be achieved with words.

All class assignments are submitted via Instagram.  Our first assignment is due Monday, so follow @alyssas_abroad_perspective on Instagram to view my work and watch my portfolio grow (I will also post the photos here on the blog).

 

Eurista!

You can take the girl out of college, but you can’t take the college out of the girl.  Technically, yes, I’m still in school, but Spain is truly a whole new world.  Even though I am thousands of miles away from cheap and convenient American university food staples, Madrid has still managed to deliver, right across the street.

Mix the cost of McDonald’s with the content of Panera Bread, with a Spanish twist, and what do you get? Cervecería 100 Montaditos.  This chain restaurant serves over 100 different miniature sandwich options filled with anything from bacon, to Brie cheese, to lamb.  The best part?   They’re all 1€ on Wednesdays and Sundays, the “eurista” concept.  Though you could probably live off of the variety and inexpensiveness of 100M’s food, I’ll be saving my trips for lazy nights when I’m tired of cooking chicken on my two-burner stove.

Cervecería 100 Montaditos is in the U.S., though it is only on the East Coast.  Attention all  UMD classmates – there’s one in D.C.!

 

Overpriced, Underwhelming

What I imagined to be a farmer’s market, Mercado San Antón turned out to be more commercial than artisan.  The atmosphere was effective, giving natural and authentic vibes, but the products were too expensive for anyone to shop at regularly.  First floor vendors artistically displayed quality, raw foods for sale, enticing visitors.  Restaurant stalls, organized similarly to a mall food court, filled the second floor with a variety of eats and lunchtime customers. Finally, La Cocina de San Antón, located on the top floor, served sit-down meals, complete with a rooftop bar.  If you’re already in the area, have time to kill in Madrid, or are looking for a classier place to eat than 1€ tapas, head over to Mercado San Antón. If not, don’t bother to make the trip.

Destination Locations

  • Cervecería 100 Montados
    • hundreds of franchises
  • Mercado San Antón
    • Calle de Augusto Figueroa, 24, 28004 Madrid

 

Paz, Amor, Madrid

A.J.H.

3 thoughts on “January 21, 2016

  1. Pingback: Spring Break – Florence/Pisa | Abroad Perspective

Leave a Reply

